Chilingirian Quartet

The quartet will perform Mozart's String Quintet No. 5 in D K593 and String Quintet No. 2 in G Op. 111 by Brahms with violaist Prunella Pacey on the 19th of May 2019.

Kings Place, 3-Feb-2019 / 18:30

Recital with violaist Prunella Pacey


The Chilingirian Quartet consists of: Levon Chilingirian and Ronald Birks on violins, Susie Mészáros on viola and Stephen Orton on cello. It was founded by Levon Chilingirian OBE in 1971, along with cellist Philip De Groote. Mr. Chilingirian is a professor and Chamber Music Artist in Residence at the Royal Academy of Music and professor of Violin and Chamber Music at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama.

They quartet performed:

Kings Place, 5-Feb-2017 / 18:30

Kings Place, 13-Nov-2016 / 18:30

Bach: Das Musikalische Opfer (The Musical Offering), BWV1079 (arr. H David)

Kings Place, 9-Oct-2016 / 18:30

Kings Place, 7-Feb-2016 / 18:30

Kings Place, 8-Nov-2015 / 18:30

Milton Court Concert Hall, 15-May-2015 / 19:30

Recital with violaist Matthew Jones

Stephen Orton became the cellist following the retirement of Philip de Groote in 2013, while Ronald Birks became a member of the Quartet in 2009.

The quartet made its BBC proms debut on the 25th of August 1976 in a performance of Schubert's Octet alongside the Lindsay String Quartet.